Jay Dean and David Watts candidates for HD 7 and Commissioner Berka

Commissioner Frank Berka

October's meeting will feature three great area speakers.

First up will be Upshur County Precinct 3 Commissioner Frank Berka. Commissioner Berka will provide an update on Upshur's financial condition, as well as other items. There will be a brief question and answer period following.

The main speakers of the evening will be candidates for Texas House District 7; Jay Dean and David Watts. Dean resides in Spring Hill, Gregg County. Watts resides in Gilmer, Upshur County. House District 7's seat, currently held by David Simpson, covers both Gregg and Upshur. 

Mid-June, Simpson announced his intention to seek Texas Senate District 1 seat, currently held by Senator Kevin Eltife. Eltife is not seeking re-election. There will be a brief question and answer period following.

"Conservatism is at stake. This race is significantly the most important in our area," said ET4L's Jeremiah Hunter. Hunter will be emceeing October's meeting.

As with previous ET4L monthly meetings, the last 30 minutes will be dedicated to both candidates and incumbents running for elected office. No prior scheduling is required.

Complementary snacks and drinks will be available.

October 12, 2015 at 7pm - 8:30pm
Disabled American Veteran, Chapter 204
1924 N Wood St
Gilmer, TX 75644
United States
Google map and directions

ET4L's November Meeting info: 

Monday, November 9, 2015 - 7:00 PM through 8:30 PM
DAV at 1924 N. Wood Street, Gilmer (across from Walmart) 
SPEAKER: Texas House District 5 Representative, Bryan Hughes. Hughes, who previously represented Upshur before House Speaker Straus's redistricting plan, is running for Texas Senate District 1, currently held by Senator Eltife.